Quick Tree Facts
  • There are approximately 25-30 million Real Christmas Trees sold in the U.S. every year.
  • There are close to 350 million Real Christmas Trees currently growing on Christmas Tree farms in the U.S. alone, all planted by farmers.
  • North American Real Christmas Trees are grown in all 50 states and Canada. Eighty percent (80%) of artificial trees worldwide are manufactured in China, according to the U.S. Commerce Department.
  • Real Trees are a renewable, recyclable resource. Artificial trees contain non-biodegradable plastics and possible metal toxins such as lead.
  • There are more than 4,000 local Christmas Tree recycling programs throughout the United States.
  • For every Real Christmas Tree harvested, 1 to 3 seedlings are planted the following spring.
  • There are about 350,000 acres in production for growing Christmas Trees in the U.S.; much of it preserving green space.
  • There are close to 15,000 farms growing Christmas Trees in the U.S., and over 100,000 people are employed full or part-time in the industry.
  • It can take as many as 15 years to grow a tree of typical height (6 - 7 feet) or as little as 4 years, but the average growing time is 7 years.
  • The top Christmas Tree producing states are Oregon, North Carolina, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin and Washington.

USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service, National Christmas Tree Association (NCTA) and your local Christmas Tree professional.

For more information, please call NCTA at (800) 975-5920.

Christmas Tree Calendar
« Back to Member Center

To request that your events be added to this calendar, please click here:

July 17-18

Christmas Tree Farmers Association of New York ONLINE IPM, https://ctfany.org

July 23

NCTA Virtual 2020 Board Meeting - 1 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. CT / 11 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. PT

July 30-31

Michigan CTA Summer VIRTUAL Meeting with other associations joining, (800) 589-8733, www.mcta.org

August 7-8

Pennsylvania Christmas Tree Growers Association Summer Meeting

(717) 238-9765

https://christmastrees.org

August 7-8

North Carolina Christmas Tree Association Convention

(828) 262-5826

www.ncchristmastrees.com

 

August 20-21

Wisconsin Christmas Tree Producers Association Summer meeting and trade show (no farm tour)

Merrill Festival Grounds, Merrill, WI

(608) 742-8663

info@christmastrees-wi.org

https://www.christmastrees-wi.org/

 

September 18 - 19

Minnesota Christmas Tree Association Summer Convention

(320) 743-4657

www.mncta.com

 

September 25 - 26

PNWCTA Tree Fair & Trade Show

Sheraton Hotel Portland Airport

More details here